University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota
Energy Transition Lab


About the Minnesota Energy Storage Alliance (MESA)

The Minnesota Energy Storage Alliance (MESA) was formed by interested volunteer stakeholders, based on the shared view that our state and region will be a strong market for energy storage.  We aspire to be a Midwest forum to share knowledge; connect industry, utilities, researchers, policymakers, regulators, experts, and clean energy advocates; and advance smart policies to support energy storage.   MESA is convened by the University of Minnesota’s Energy Transition Lab with support from the McKnight Foundation.

Our Mission

To lead in accelerating the development of energy storage in Minnesota and the Midwest Region. Click Here to Read More About Our Vision and Principles.

What We Do

    Our Structure

    Steering Committee

    The Steering Committee represents a broad cross-section of energy stakeholders and experts.  Current members include:

    Ellen Anderson, Convenor                                Massoud Amin, U of MN

    Allen Gleckner, Fresh Energy                           Christine Andrews, Attorney

    Hari Osofsky, U of MN                                     Beth Soholt, Wind on the Wires

    Ralph Jacobson, IPS Solar                               Brent Bergland, Mortenson Construction

    Amy Fredregill, Xcel Energy                              Lise Trudeau, MN Department of Commerce

    W. John Frederick, Energy Consultant                Matt Prorok, Great Plains Institute

    Phyllis Reha, Par Energy Solutions                    Fran Crotty, MN Pollution Control Agency

    Laureen Ross McKalib (alternate Angela Maiko), Great River Energy

    Joe Sullivan (alternate Josh Quinnell), Center for Energy and Environment (CEE)

    John Kearney, MN Solar Energy Industry Association (MNSEIA)

    Rao Konidena, Midwest Independent System Operator (MISO)



    • Policy & Markets Barriers and Solutions Committee: focuses on overall energy storage legal, regulatory, policy, and market issues.  Lead:  Phyllis Reha
    • Regional Markets Sub-Committee: focuses on MISO rules and wholesale market policies. Lead: Matt Prorok
    • Committees in Formation:  Knowledge Sharing and Outreach Committee, Industry & Research Development Committee


    Minnesota Energy Storage Alliance (MESA) funding is provided by the McKnight Foundation and the Energy Transition Lab.  The Energy Transition Lab’s energy storage work is also supported by the Energy Foundation, the Minneapolis Foundation, the Carolyn Foundation, and several corporate sponsors including Great River Energy, Mortenson Construction, GE, AES, and NextEra Energy.  The Energy Transition Lab (ETL) is supported by the University of Minnesota’s Institute on the Environment and the Law School.  ETL is actively seeking additional funding to support MESA’s work.

    Click Here to contact MESA

    The Energy Transition Lab is a strategic initiative of the University of Minnesota's Institute on the Environment in partnership with the Office of the Vice President of Research and the Law School.
    Funding support to the Energy Transition Lab is primarily provided by the Institute on the Environment and the Office of the Vice President for Research. Funders have no role in study design, data collection and analysis, decision to publish, or preparation of any manuscript.
    Explore ETL
    twitter social icon mail social icon